Our Junior Road Safety Officers

Our Junior Road Safety Officers (JRSO) are a group of P4 to P7 children who pay an important role on the promotion of road safety within their school and communities.

Over the past few months our fantastic officers have been busy raising road safety awareness, with talented pupils:

Writing jingles.

Holding poster design competitions.

Organising and hosting promotional events.

Encouraging pupils to participate in the “big pedal” as well as “walk to school” and “bike to school” weeks.

Gathering information from classes and giving talks on road safety during school assemblies.

Discourage dangerous parking outside schools.

This month South Ayrshire Council held their annual JRSO awards at Ayr Town Hall, the day was enjoyed by all with prizes given to the following:


Notice Board of the year

1st Heathfield Primary School, Ayr

2nd Annbank Primary School, Mossblown

3rd St Patricks Primary School, Troon


Campaign of the year

1st Kingcase Primary School, Prestwick

2nd Forehill Primary School, Ayr

3rd Ballantrae Primary School, Girvan


Co-Ordinator of the year

1st Mrs Barclay

2nd Mrs Swan

3rd Mrs Brown


School of the year

1st St Patricks Primary School, Troon

2nd Barassie Primary School, Troon

3rd Kirkmichael Primary School, Maybole


Great Idea awards were presented to

Straiton Primary School, Maybole for their idea of weather chart Fridays – a weekly road safety discussion based on the weather that Friday.

Minishant Primary School, Minishant for their Road Safety Activity Booklet – a booklet full of quizzes and games for children to complete as a home link activity.

Crosshill Primary School, Maybole for their Winter Warners and JRSO bake off event – children held an event where they invited parents and pupils to bring along road safety themed cakes  and hear all about Winter Road Safety

It is safe to say all of our JRSO are a talented and very enthusiastic bunch.